Skip to main content

Common Core


What is Common Core?

The Common Core State Standards (CCSS) are a universal set of academic benchmarks adopted by 45 states, including California, and the District of Columbia.   To better understand how this blueprint is designed to help students develop higher levels of understanding and proficiency in the areas of Language Arts and math, take a few minutes to view a short video on the transition to CCSS.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Described by some as the most sweeping academic changes California has experienced in the past two decades, Common Core State Standards (CCSS) have brought about a wide variety of questions for parents, teachers and students. 

Common Core Standards

Information regarding Common Core Standards by grade level in English and Mathematics.


Visit Common Core webpage for more details on the standards.


OUSD Instructional Focus

"All students will demonstrate their thinking, both verbally and in writing, to show understanding of their learning."